Users - Access rights and Permissions

Restrict access to your budgets to secure your data and make Budgyt easier to use.

Budgyt is a multi user system. And with large, complex businesses with multiple users, there is often a need to limit what certain users have access to.

With Budgyt this is very simple. Users are managed in the Users > All Users screen. Here you can add users and restrict their access privileges. By selecting the pencil icon to the right side of each user, you enter the user edit screen, where you can limit their access by Department, by Category, by Budget, and also limit their Roles which is where you will define the functions that they may perform.

Category/Account restrictions work on 3 levels - a user can see and edit a category, may be given access just to see the category total and not edit, and can be prevented from seeing the category at all. To learn more, click here.

This way, you can limit users to viewing only information that is relevant to their role - for instance you may only want them to see their Department's budget, and would like to prevent them from viewing salary information. They may also only need to view the budget, but not be allowed to make changes.

When a user has limited access, those limitations are reflected on the Dashboard. Although there might be 20 Departments in the business, if a user only has permission to view 3 of them, there will only be 3 departments showing in the Departments drop down menu. Also, if the user has restricted Roles, some of the navigation menus will be invisible.

As well as restricted views, any reports that a user creates will automatically be formatted and filtered to only show the Departments and Categories that that user has permission to see.

There are a number of Roles that may be assigned to users:

Administrator users have access to all functions - this role is strictly for admin users as it provides full permissions to every function on the platform as well as every Department and GL Account.

User can approve and reject budget data - if you have the Approvals add-on then this role will allow the user to be an Approver for other users that do not have this role.

User can edit budget data - this role allows the user to add, edit, delete and other functions for any budget on the Manage Budgets view.  Usually this role is reserved for admins or power users only. This is not for editing data within a budget, rather it allows the user to change things like the name of a budget, or which months are locked.

User can edit datasheet values - gives the user permission to edit the data sheet. This is where the data within a budget is edited. If you uncheck this option, the user will be read only.  The user will be able to access all the edit functions using the pencil icon on the data sheet.

User can edit excel linking - this role allows the user to upload and link excel files that appear in the data sheet. This function allows multiple rows in an Excel file to be linked to multiple categories in Budgyt - for instance if you have a large amount of data in a file and you only need to show the total in Budgyt. These links can be managed under Data/Formulas > Manage Excel Links.

User can import data via CSV or API - this role allows the user to import your historical General Ledger data using our import functions as well as importing payroll, settings and/or historical budget data.  We recommend reserving this role for power users or admins only.

User can manage formulas - this role allows the user to access our formula functions via the Manage C2C, Manage FOA or Manage Rules navigation items.  This is the area where the user can create and manage formulas.  The inputs to these formulas are entered in the data sheet but the creation of the formulas is managed in the formula section. This role should be reserved for power users or admins that need to create formulas.

User can Manage Allocation, Employee, HR Formulas and Payroll - this role is for users that need full access to the Employee Module.  This role should be reserved for power users or admins as they can add, edit or delete any employee and set HR formulas.   Note: if the user has this role but has limited access to departments or categories that are assigned to employees, then the user will have access to the employee module but limited to the employees that appear in the departments and categories assigned to that user.

User can Manage Employee -this role is used if the complete employee module access is not desired but you want the user to be able to add, edit or delete employees.  This role does not allow adding/editing of compensation details for these employees, just the entry of employee code, job title, full name, hire date and assigned departments.  It is the first step before setting payroll for the employee.

User can Manage HR Formulas - gives the user the ability to add and edit any formulas created within the employee module.

User can Manage Payroll - this role is used if the complete employee module access is not desired but you want the user to be able to edit the payroll for the employees assigned to the departments and categories this user shares.  Check this box if you want the user to help you manage payroll without managing the HR Formulas.  The user will need the User can Manage Employee role if you want the user to add, edit or delete employees that then can have payroll set for them. This is the second and final step for setting payroll for the employee.

User can Manage Settings - this role is usually reserved for power users and admins as it allows access to the global settings of Budgyt.  The user will be able to add, edit or delete any category or department and other settings that apply to all budgets through out the site.

User can Unapprove Budget Data - if you have the Approvals add-on then this role will allow the user to unapprove any data that was previously approved. This role should be reserved for admin or power users.

User can View Budget Data - this role allows the user access to the Manage Budgets screen with "view only" rights to budgets that are shared with the user.  

User can View Dashboard Data - this is a popular user role and without it the user will not have access to any dashboard.  Instead they would access budgets via manage budget and data sheet.  We recommend all users have this role.

User can see Net Sales - this role allows the user to see net sales on the data sheet.  In some businesses it is useful to see the category expense as a percent of net sales.   If this role is not checked then the user will not see net sales on the data sheet.  Most non-profit users do not need to see net sales.

User can View Reports - this role allows the user to run and download reports to Excel using our report library.  We recommend giving this role to most of your users.